About CVIS

Chartiers Valley Intermediate School
2030 Swallow Hill Road
Pittsburgh, PA 15220

412-429-2233
F: 412-429-2380

School Hours:
8:45 am - 3:45 pm

Grades: 3 - 5

Julie Franczyk
Principal
412-429-2232
jfranczyk@cvsd.net

Peter Schintz
Assistant Principal
412-429-2387
pschintz@cvsd.net

Kelli Brown
IS Secretary
412-429-3705
kbrown@cvsd.net

Sue Kowalo
Attendance 
412-429-2236
skowalo@cvsd.net

Sarah Mallon
School Counselor
412-429-2213
smallon@cvsd.net

Bobbi Spak
Nurse
412-429-2283
bspak@cvsd.net

Intermediate School principal and assistant principal

The Chartiers Valley Intermediate School (CVIS) serves approximately 750 students in grades 3 through 5.  

At this level, students begin to develop their personal responsibility, self-reliance, and creativity.  The core curriculum is comprised of language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, health education, physical education, visual arts, and music. This learning is enhanced by opportunities to participate in interdisciplinary studies, projects, and performances. 

Students at this level become eligible for intramural sports (such as basketball, floor hockey and softball), chorus and instrumental music electives. The building has separate facilities for all instruction including: vocal, instrumental and string music, art, digital media and literacy and physical education. The Intermediate School also has its own auditorium, cafeteria, playground, and digital media center/library. 

Accolades and Affiliations

most challenging high schools logo
project lead the way logo
remake learning logo
common sense school logo
Best Music Community logo
National Math and Science Initiative logo
university of Pittsburgh logo
National Association of School Resource Officers logo
no place for hate logo
Sandy Hook Promise logo
best buddies logo
daughters of American revolution logo
Mix it up model school logo
Allegheny Intermediate Unit 3 Logo
Keep PA Beautiful logo
Global Minds Initiative logo
NASA art contest logo
consortium for public education
PA State Modern Language association logo
Junior Achievement of Western PA logo
institute for learning logo